How Do I Use Rice Crispy Cereal?

Decorating By abbytrahan Updated 12 Nov 2011 , 3:50pm by MelissaJeane

abbytrahan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
abbytrahan Posted 12 Nov 2011 , 2:35pm
post #1 of 4

I'm making the mickey mouse clubhouse for my son's 2nd birthday. I'm going to make the grass the actual cake but would love to know how to make the clubhouse. I know the best bet is to use rice crispy and to mold it into the shape I want. What receipe do I use? How far in advance should I start? Do I put buttercream icing on the treats, let it dry and then add the fondant? If so what time frame am I looking at? I've never done this before so any and all advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

Abby

3 replies
cakeyouverymuch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeyouverymuch Posted 12 Nov 2011 , 3:13pm
post #2 of 4

I use the regular rice cereal treat recipe with the generic rice cereal:

http://www.ricekrispies.com/recipes/the-original-treats.aspx#/recipes/the-original-treats

Sometimes, if I know they're going to be eaten I will make the RCT with peanut butter or chocolate.

I usually start my RCT elements a week in advance, but they can be done the day before in a pinch.

The kayak here was made 10 days in advance, but I had a lot of RCT elements for that cake and the surface of the kayak had to be as perfect as possible. I shaped it and let it rest for 24 hours, then took a very sharp knife to it to shave the surface smooth:

http://lamaisondesgateaux.blogspot.com/2011/05/bonne-fete-dan.html

But the teddy bear here was made the day of because I made it on a whim. I thought the slightly uneven surface added to the 'soft' stuffed toy look:

http://lamaisondesgateaux.blogspot.com/2010/12/un-gateau-de-chocolat-couvert-en.html