Quick Freezing Cakes And Stuff

Decorating By kikidee Updated 11 Nov 2011 , 6:46pm by BlakesCakes

kikidee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kikidee Posted 11 Nov 2011 , 5:46am
post #1 of 7

Hi, Im new to cake central. Mighty glad to find this site. Can I use Miller Stephenson quik freeze on my cakes? My husband's got dozens of those and I was wondering if its safe. I've googled the topic endlessly but cant get anywhere.

6 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 11 Nov 2011 , 9:27am
post #2 of 7

What on earth is it?

doramoreno62 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doramoreno62 Posted 11 Nov 2011 , 10:01am
post #3 of 7

Omgosh! I wouldn't! Ive never heard of the stuff but I did a quick google on it and it's a chemical that's used for instantly freezing plastic, rubber and other things. One site said if inhaled it could cause heart palpitations!! Read on:

For hot-cold intermittence testing of electronic components and protection of components during soldering.  Excellent for cooling epoxy in composite forming and reducing tack in prepreg applications. Also used for freezing biological specimens. Instantly freezes small areas to -55°F/-48°C. Compatible with most plastics, rubbers and metals. Nonflammable. No ODC (ozone depleting chemicals)

Quik-Freeze® Antistatic
MS-242N-AS (14oz Aerosol)
Same general application as MS-242N but with an antistatic agent. Helps dissipate any static charges which may build up during spray.  Instantly freezes small areas to -40°F/-40°C. Compatible with most plastics, rubbers and metals. Nonflammable. No ODC (ozone depleting chemicals).

Safezone Cleaner for Plastic, Glass & Metal
MS-260 (16oz Aerosol)
MS-260M (8oz Pump)
MS-262 (Qt, Gal, 5G, 55G)