Why Are My Cakes Too Fluffy

Baking By britishgrl Updated 9 Nov 2011 , 7:13am by JennTheCakeLadie

britishgrl Posted 9 Nov 2011 , 5:09am
post #1 of 5

So I've been having this problem.
I use the "durable cake for 3d carving" recipe. I like being able to modify a box mix specifically because I can do tons of flavors, without having to have 20 different recipes. I dont want to have tons of cake recipes for right now anyway.

Call it a shortcut....whatever.

Anyway, I have been having trouble with my cake because it seems like it has too much air in it. I work as a decorator at wal-mart and ive noticed their cakes have very few large bubbles in them. I very much like that about them, it makes them easier to carve etc.

When I have had to carve cakes, (I made a sculpted one recently) they seem either too soft or when theyre overdone they seem....tasteless.

So heres my question, (i didnt go to culinary school or anything) is there anything I can do to stop my cake mix from being too airy. Can I add a tiny bit of baking soda? What can I do to help this? I want a dense cake.

Any replies are very much appreciated.
Thanks for the help

4 replies
auntiecake Posted 9 Nov 2011 , 5:45am
post #2 of 5

Maybe beat it at a slower speed. Run a knife through it before baking. Tap it on the counter and get rid of the extra air bubbles. Hope this helps.

Sunshine0063 Posted 9 Nov 2011 , 6:16am
post #3 of 5

Do you freeze your cakes? I used to wrap mine when they were warm but have stopped because I didn't like them quite that moist and dense ( I like mine a little bit more lite and airy) so now I let them cool a little before I wrap and freeze.

MCurry Posted 9 Nov 2011 , 6:18am
post #4 of 5

How long are you mixing your cake batter? Is your oven temperature accurate? These are factors that impact the texture of the cake. Also, consider checking the comments under the recipe to see if anyone else had these problems.