Calculate 10" Based On 8" Price? (Wilton)

Decorating By Bridgette1129 Updated 4 Nov 2011 , 2:32pm by TexasSugar

Bridgette1129 Posted 2 Nov 2011 , 2:55am
post #1 of 10

Is the wilton chart (http://www.wilton.com/wedding/wedding-cakes/wedding-cake-data.cfm) accurate for cups of batter to make a x" cake?

I am just starting out with baking cakes for family and friends (as gifts) and have no idea how to calculate how much batter to make or how much it would cost me in ingredients for a cake in a size other than I have made.

Example: I made a chocolate cake (8"). Wilton says you need 3 cups of batter per 2" layer. So if I wanted to find the price of ingredients for a 10" I would find the difference in cups of batter? But is their suggestion accurate?

I don't want to just bake a ton of cakes to find out. Lol, thanks so much!

9 replies
MCurry Posted 2 Nov 2011 , 3:20am
post #2 of 10

I am familiar with the Wilton chart but loosely use it as a guide for cutting slices only and really do not use the batter or icing charts.

The amount of batter you need depends on a couple of things. First, the cake recipe you use and the overall height you want your cake to be post baking and filling. When I use a 2 inch pan, my goal is to have a cake that rises to the rim at 2 inches because I torte my cakes. Therefore, my finished cake without frosting are already 2 inches per pan. When I torte and add fillings, my cakes are at least 4 1/2 inches tall but no more than 5 inches. Depending on what recipe I use, this may be achieved with 3 or even more cups of batter. You will have to experiment with your recipes to see. I'd rather have too much batter than too little (been there done that!).

I do find that if I am moving from a 9 inch to a 10 inch cake, I usually have to make 1.5x or 2x the original recipe to make sure my cakes get the correct height.