Peanut Butter Cake That Supports Fondant

Baking By amarilloyankee Updated 4 Nov 2011 , 4:54pm by sexysnowtiger

amarilloyankee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amarilloyankee Posted 26 Oct 2011 , 4:07am
post #1 of 5

Ok I am searching for a strong peanut butter cake that will support Fondant. I have baked 2 12x16 cakes & both have broke when I tried to wrap with plastic wrap to put in the freezer argghh!! It seems like a very soft cake recipe that I am using, not sure if it will support MMF. I am a hobby baker so not the best at "knowing" these things. I have only baked about 20 cakes & most of mine are carved & I have only used WASC cakes.

Please any help ASAP cake is due Saturday.

The cake is a Guitar cake so not too much carving but lots of fondant decorations

Thank you

PS the recipe I am using I is
DH butter mix with
1/2 cup pb &
4 eggs
1/2 butter

4 replies
Kellbella Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kellbella Posted 26 Oct 2011 , 4:24am
post #2 of 5

I don't think the problem is the recipe. I think the cake may have been too warm when you tried to move it or you moved it improperly when trying to wrap it. I would use a cookie sheet and slide it under the cake before you move it. Good luck.

amarilloyankee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amarilloyankee Posted 26 Oct 2011 , 4:36am
post #3 of 5

I let it set in the pan for over an hr & then let it set another hr on the cooling rack? I dont really know how to wrap them I just usually wrap them by flipping them quickly? I would love any tips. I think the first cake I can save & use as the neck but the last one argghh the side end broke off about 2". I have one more cake to bake to stack on the last one. I will do what ever i need to to make the cake look great! icon_wink.gif It's for my friend's 2yr old.

sweettreat101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettreat101 Posted 29 Oct 2011 , 8:34am
post #4 of 5

Peanut Butter Cake - Betty Crocker (not WASC) *doubled version
2 pkgs white cake mix