Fondant Over Full Buttercream...

Decorating By sweetminis Updated 24 Oct 2011 , 1:56pm by Panel7124

sweetminis Posted 24 Oct 2011 , 4:16am
post #1 of 7

I am new to decorating and have found CC to be invaluable but I have yet to find a solid solution to covering my fully frosted buttercream cakes with fondant.
I use Satin Ice/Fondx and my buttercream squishes around and/or my fondant starts to dry/crack before I can smooth it down properly (i'm pretty slow with that technique) but I hate the idea of just crumb coating because I love my buttercream. I have been successful with ganache but I find that it doesn't compliment all of my cake flavors.

I have tried to chill my cakes before applying my fondant but find that the fondant sweats & bubbles. Long story short (am I past that point already?) I'd like to know if and how this can be done with ABC or IMBC?

6 replies
scp1127 Posted 24 Oct 2011 , 7:34am
post #2 of 7

I always fully frost my cakes because people buy mine because of the scratch baking and real buttercreams. I have no problem with the European buttercreams, but I do with cream cheese buttercream. Sometimes, even if the cake is very cold, I will have a corner with an indent because the frosting is just too soft to handle the manipulation.

I don't compromise the recipe or the amount, as the small dent is so unnoticeable to everyone but me.

I warn my customers and even have pictures. So far, everyone has opted for my cake with a little dent. And the dent is minute. A border usually covers it.

I keep forgetting to try FromScratch's SMBC with cream cheese. This is supposed to be much sturdier.

So I guess it's up to you. I'll opt for the taste.

mclaren Posted 24 Oct 2011 , 11:41am
post #3 of 7

Honey I don't know where you are located, but where I live, I will have the exact same problem if I were to frost my cakes with thick layer of BC prior to covering them with fondant.