I Don't Think I Was Overcharging, But She Seemed To Think So

Decorating By ieatcakes157 Updated 27 Oct 2011 , 8:22pm by nelullah

ieatcakes157 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ieatcakes157 Posted 23 Oct 2011 , 8:07pm
post #1 of 27

Heya,
An old school friend recently asked me how much i'd charge for a round star cake, and i said £14.
Included for the £14 would be a cake box to put it in (around £2.30 off ebay), a cakeboard (£1) plus the costs of ingredients & electric to cook it. After all that id be making about £6 profit, if that.
She then turned round and said she didnt want it as it costs a lot, and it wasn't worth it.
As a beginner, my cakes take quite a lot of time to do, and this has made me quite angry, as id barely make anything from it! And its actually quite dented my confidence in cake making completely.
Was I over charging? icon_sad.gif

26 replies
NerdyGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NerdyGirl Posted 23 Oct 2011 , 8:35pm
post #2 of 27

If you give her a breakdown by how much you pay for every item, and how much you would pay yourself, she might understand it better - and realize she's getting an amazing deal.

My husband thought I overcharged until I gave him a breakdown. Enlightening for him, to say the least!

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 23 Oct 2011 , 8:38pm
post #3 of 27

i don't know anything about pounds...but i didn't see you putting some cost in there for your time! so, you basically just want to cover your costs? I think that's cheap...you always have to think that you need to be paid for your time or else it's not business, you're just doing a favor for a friend!

most people that don't cake decorate don't understand the costs that go into baking and providing a cake...they may think "oh they just get a box cake which is X amount of cost". it is VERY enlightening if you broke it down for them icon_wink.gif

Davwattie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Davwattie Posted 23 Oct 2011 , 8:46pm