Curiosity Question

Decorating By SnLSweetEscapes Updated 23 Oct 2011 , 4:26pm by rlowry03

SnLSweetEscapes Posted 23 Oct 2011 , 2:05pm
post #1 of 9

Does anyone only do Buttercream cakes and refuse to do fondant cakes? Also, are you successful at this and get any complaints?
I personally have just started decorating cakes and am still learning a lot as I am completely self taught. I know that fondant is very common and to me looks a lot easier. But then again I have never used it. Or maybe I should say that it looks quicker, haha.
Thanks!

8 replies
MimiFix Posted 23 Oct 2011 , 2:38pm
post #2 of 9

It's possible to start a cake business structured around your own ideas; then see how your ideas adapt to the marketplace. I used to do fondant cakes but my hands were much happier doing buttercream only. I lost some business, of course, but when I stopped I then had more time to accept orders I'd previously turned down (because I was too busy laboring with fondant).

tiggy2 Posted 23 Oct 2011 , 2:41pm
post #3 of 9

I don't refuse to do them but most people in my area don't want fondant (cost/taste). As far as being easier and quicker, you still have to have a BC base coat and it would have to be smoother then what I'm seeing in your photos. You have to roll it to the correct thickness and it takes time to smooth out to avoid wrinkles. There are many youtube videos if you want to give it a go.

GarciaGM Posted 23 Oct 2011 , 2:58pm
post #4 of 9

I've not ever done a fondant covered cake. In fact, I specifically tell people I won't do them. Yes, they are very pretty and give you certain design possibilities that are more difficult with buttercream, but I am also self-taught and it's just not something I've delved into yet. Now, I do fondant and gumpaste accents and decorations, but otherwise it's all buttercream. No complaints yet.