Need Help Asap *if Possible* Cake Heights And Size

Decorating By augurey Updated 22 Oct 2011 , 11:09am by augurey

augurey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
augurey Posted 20 Oct 2011 , 4:47am
post #1 of 14

I have a full sheet cake due tomorrow 5pm.

1/2 chocolate, 1/2 white.

Used 12x18 for each and was going to place them side by side.

Well, mistake 1: I've never used these pans before until this evening.

I'm using an older stove, so I know it doesn't bake the greatest (though I've had some cakes bake very nicely).

I baked at 325 and used a nail in the center. The cake as a whole is probably only about an inch in height. And well, I can't imagine the cake looking good at only an inch, and probably not enough cake.

So, I was going to bake again and try to get a better height or just do a two layer. But, having baked with a 9x13 (thinking 1/4 sheet, 2 should equal my 1/2 sheet) and having nice height, I decided I might be safer going that route.

Well, again, baking at 325 and with a nail in the center, it's still about only an inch in height, so I still have to double it up.

My question is, is there any way I can use the 12x18 and 9x13 as two layers together? I tried to place them together the best I could (the 9x13 are still cooling), and it looks like I might be able to if I trimmed some off the 9x13.

Could this work? Or am I going to have to re-bake again?

I'm currently completely out of ingredients (well, almost all, and that was after already having extra, but apparently not enough for a double screw up) and can't really go anywhere to get any more right now as it's almost 1am -- so if I go, I'll be getting up at the crack of dawn to go (I have to go because I totally screwed up on my icing which is not fixable, and remake that in the morning).

Any suggestions? Is this fixable or am I re-baking?

13 replies
MaricellaSB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MaricellaSB Posted 20 Oct 2011 , 4:56am
post #2 of 14