What Would You Charge?

Decorating By HokieFan Updated 20 Oct 2011 , 2:18pm by TexasSugar

HokieFan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HokieFan Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 10:36pm
post #1 of 5

I've been asked by my husband's coworkers to make a cake to celebrate the December birthdays. They'd like it to look like a basketball court with a 3D basketball in the middle. When they celebrate birthdays, everyone just chips in a couple bucks to cover the cost. I know they can't afford a $80+ cake. My husband always complains that I don't charge enough, but I'd rather charge little and get to make the cake and gain experience (and maybe more jobs from them in the future) than not make the cake at all.

What would you charge for a 9x13 decorated as described above? I'm not a professional baker, but a teacher so this is definitely extra work for me. Who knows though, this could lead to more opportunities. I plan to start a family and stop teaching next year, so a cake business on the side would be nice!

4 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 10:54pm
post #2 of 5

First you need to look at whether or not is legal to sell cakes made from home, some states have cottage food laws that allow it, while other states require you to have a licensed and inspected commercial kitchen.

To price a cake, you need to add up your costs, including ingredients, labor (# of hours * your hourly wage), and overhead (the portion of utilities, insurance, etc. applicable to that cake), then add an additional 20-30% for your profit margin.

If they can't afford $80, chances are the cake you mentioned will be out of their price range. Our 3D cakes start at $250, but we've sold regular 9x13 cakes with simpler 2D decorations for $80-90.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 20 Oct 2011 , 1:27pm
post #3 of 5

Hi hokiefan, off-topic, but we just visited VT this weekend... my daughter's #1 choice (future vet in the family).