Good Icing Recipe For Kids Use?

Baking By CookieArtist Updated 20 Oct 2011 , 5:11pm by TexasSugar

CookieArtist Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieArtist Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 6:10pm
post #1 of 8

I am a teacher & I make my own icing. It tastes good but its too messy for the kids to use. So i buy it at the store but that gets pretty expensive! Would royal icing work or would that be too hard? How do you all decorate with royal icing?....paint brushes? or piping bags?? i need some easy icing and easy way for the kids to decorate. I think they would have hard time with piping bags and it might be a mess with paint brush with my icing! Any suggestions?

7 replies
MCurry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MCurry Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 6:28pm
post #2 of 8

Check out the recipe forum here and select one that uses: butter or shortening with confectioners' sugar, water/milk and flavoring (i.e. vanilla extract) to use. Some people call it birthday cake frosting or American buttercream. It is very easy to make, under 10 minutes and kids typically love it. Wilton also uses this type of recipe in their classes as well. Keep it simple and cheap on the frosting for kids I say.

I would not use royal icing for kids. First, may recipes call for raw egg whites and if you don't use that you'll have to go out and get powdered egg whites. Unless you have them dipping the cupcakes in royal icing I agree with you that it could get messy. They may not like the flavor either.

Hope this helps!

CookieArtist Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 6:30pm
post #3 of 8

THANK YOU SO MUCH! I will try it this evening!!! icon_smile.gif

MCurry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MCurry Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 6:36pm
post #4 of 8

Awesome. If you can't find one, repost and I will get you one!

gingerbreadtogo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gingerbreadtogo Posted 20 Oct 2011 , 2:54am
post #5 of 8