Transfering An Image To A Frosted Cake

Decorating By EvArt Updated 20 Oct 2011 , 3:32pm by EvArt

EvArt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EvArt Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 3:33pm
post #1 of 4

With so many thousands of posts on CC, this may have been thought of and posted, or maybe I'm lucky and have had an original thought. lol

I'm a self-taught cake designer. I remember some things from when my mother decorated cakes. I've picked up from the cake shows and then just trial and error. One of the hardest things has been trying to figure out how to get my image onto my frosted cake without messing up the icing. I've tried several different methods with no luck. Well yesterday I accidentally figured it out!!

My mom used to lay her pattern on her cake and then use a tool with a head like a needle and poke holes along the lines, thus transferring her pattern onto the cake. So I was trying that and the parchment paper was messing up my icing when the needle would have trouble poking through the paper. So I took the parchment paper off and laid in on something and poked the holes through, outlining my design. My thought being to make it easier for my needle to poke through on top of the cake. So I laid my pattern back on my cake and began to try to hit the same holes...yeah, not an easy task. I lifted the paper to see how I was doing only to see that the face of my design was completely outlined!! Didn't take me but a second to figure out what had happened. By poking the holes through my parchment paper first, I had left a positive imprint on the backside of my image; meaning the holes poked IN on the front, but poked OUT on the back, thus allowing the the outword dots to imprint the surface of my cake. So I laid the paper back down and gently rubbed over the entire surface leaving me an imprint of my pattern on my cake with little damage to my icing!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
In short:
1. Trace your image onto a piece of parchment paper (you'll want the stiffer, yet giving, paper)