I Need To Vent :(

Decorating By vaniti716 Updated 25 Oct 2011 , 2:43pm by RetiredNavyChief

vaniti716 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vaniti716 Posted 17 Oct 2011 , 4:56pm
post #1 of 33

So here it goes.....I am a small business but i have been baking and decorating cakes for a few years now....I bake and decorate all types of cakes including Dominican Cakes which is a big hit in the spanish community...well first of all because I work by myslef and have a small child i only take a few orders a week...first i would like to mention cakes that are decorated in fondant in the spanish community is not a normal thing, Dominican cakes are normally only done in Meringue buttercream with fruit fillings like Guava, Pineapple and Dulce de Leche any other filling is considered out of the norm...most Dominican cakes are sold by the pound at about $40-60 (1 pound is a cake pan of 10 inches) anyway bc i am a small bakery and like having everything fresh i dont have dominican cakes or any other cakes already made (everything is made per order) so back to the topic...this couple comes in to my store front on Wends and asks if i do Dominican Cakes which i said yes i do, well they proceed to tell me that they want a Monsters High theme cake for 40 people I advised that although i do make dominican cakes i use Swiss Meringue buttercream bc Meringue is too soft....they agree on the price for the cake and after i had given them the reciept they decide to tell me that the cake is not for next week but for the coming Sat.....I normally do not take cakes that late in the week especially a cake that would require hand made flowers....I decided against my better judgement to go ahead and do the cake anyway....well these people came to the shop 3 other times...first the husband came back to tell me that the cake was too expensive and wanted something cheaper that would feed his guests but still look hot...we agreed on a sheet cake covered in fondant with a skull head on it but after i lo