In Over My Head-How To Get Perfectly Square Cakes?

Decorating By sarge1 Updated 16 Oct 2011 , 8:50pm by sarge1

sarge1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarge1 Posted 16 Oct 2011 , 4:47am
post #1 of 7

So I have agreed to do a wedding cake for an acquaintance. She won't be paying me or anything like that, which is fine since I'm not a cake decorator! I wanted to be, tried and tried, but I'm not good at it. It's ok, I like to bake all sorts of things, and do pretty well in other areas. Anyway, the cake she picked is not that complex in terms of decorations, but I have 2 areas of concern: getting the cake perfectly square and level, and that "bulge" in the middle once I add the filling. Can anyone walk me thorough some basic steps/tips to getting a perfectly square cake? Like: bake, cool, cut, fill, freeze, ...?? And why am I getting that bulge of filling? Thanks for any help you can offer, I sure appreciate it

6 replies
cabecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cabecakes Posted 16 Oct 2011 , 5:02am
post #2 of 7