I Need Ideas To Cover Cake Boards.

Decorating By kimphipps Updated 14 Oct 2011 , 9:00pm by cathyscakes

kimphipps Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimphipps Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 3:33pm
post #1 of 10

I am not a professional cake decorator but I make cakes on the side every now and then for people I know. I was just wondering what everyone uses to cover their cake boards. Im not a big fan of the silver foil and I dont make enough cakes to order the colored foil and invest a lot of money into it. I like to have colors that go with the cake so I usually just use tissue paper and then wax paper over top. This doesnt look the greatest and I would love to know if anyone has some ideas on different ways to cover the boards.

9 replies
2xMiMi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2xMiMi Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 3:38pm
post #2 of 10

I am a hobby baker and do mainly grandchildren's birthday cakes. I don't like the foil for that either and I cover in wrapping paper and put clear wrap (food safe) over that.

jhay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jhay Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 3:51pm
post #3 of 10

You could use fondant. I use the cheaper stuff (Wilton) to cover mine sometimes. It's trickier if you're just putting your cakes on a carboard round, but if you're using a cake drum or a thicker cake board, it works out very nicely.

LeeBD Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LeeBD Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 4:01pm
post #4 of 10

I have used wrapping paper before, but it can't be a thin paper. There's a cake supply store not far from me that sells all different color foils by the sheet depending on the size board you need to cover. They keep it on rolls on the wall and just cut to size. You should check to see if anyone in your area does this.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 4:12pm
post #5 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimphipps

Im not a big fan of the silver foil and I dont make enough cakes to order the colored foil and invest a lot of money into it.