Rrrahhhhr --Need To Vent

Decorating By jamieq Updated 22 Oct 2011 , 3:19am by Apti

jamieq Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 2:21pm
post #1 of 26

I am a hobby baker, I love to make cakes, and sometimes my full time job gets to reap the rewards of a practice run. Well, most times it is super fun to see their reactions and hear the praise... icon_redface.gif C'mon?... who doesn't love that? But, NOW... it is always.. "It's Friday! Where's the damn cake?" Seriously? I wish people really had some lick of an idea how much cake actually costs, money AND time. I don't have $40-$50 every single Friday to feed the masses. Pass a hat around, i will make you a stupid cake! Until then... I shouldn't be expected to go broke making these neandrathals breakfast!! Eat some cereal! RRRAAAAHHHHRRRRR! It just irritates me to no end.
They have now come to understand it as some right to cake and assume that I am going to take time away from my family and spend my own money. GGGRRRR... NO!!

aahhhhhh.... better. thanks.

25 replies
TexasSugar Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 3:52pm
post #2 of 26

People don't think, it is as simple as that.

They are just use to a Friday cake, and aren't thinking of the cost or expense it is for you. They are looking at it as, oh she gets to practice and we get to eat cake. I don't think it's right for them to demand a cake, but you sorta trained them if you were bringing them in a lot.

Next time you bring one in, how about putting a tip jar on your desk? That's what I do when I bring sweets in. I never get enough to cover all of the costs, but I do get some. Or course I work with family and my boss doesn't care if I have a tip jar out of not. And when I don't put the jar out, some of the guys will still hand me a quarter or what not.

FullHouse Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 5:13pm
post #3 of 26