Marshmallow Fondant

Decorating By mamajared Updated 11 Oct 2011 , 7:46pm by mamajared

mamajared Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamajared Posted 11 Oct 2011 , 4:15pm
post #1 of 7

I have done about 5 cakes with marshmallow fondant.
I can't get it to come out perfect thumbsdown.gif One time i forgot to sift the confectioners sugar.. another time it came out too thin.. another time it wouldn't roll out to get it thin enough to cover the cake. I am pretty new at this.

Which marshmallow fondant recipes have you guys used and came out the best?

How many days ahead of time should i make it?

What if i want to use MMF to make figurines? what can I add to it to make it harden? and how much?

thanks icon_biggrin.gif

6 replies
auntginn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntginn Posted 11 Oct 2011 , 4:45pm
post #2 of 7

mamajared, Welcome to CC. at least you've come to the right place to get lots of help and new ideas.

I only use fondant which we make not store bought because I don't like the taste. But if you have bought fondant you will notice that the premade fondant has a grease like quality. That being said mmf has no added grease. So I am very very generous with the vegetable shortening. I end up using about 1/2c while preparing my fondant.

I really don't do alot of exact measuring so my fondant may or may not come out exactly the same each time, but knowing what to do to strengten things out helps.

My recipe which I took from this site is this.

1 bag (I believe is 16ozs) white marshmellows - About 2lbs powdered sugar (use 10x's whenever possible) 1/2c melted white chocolate - veg. shortening - water - flavoring optional.