How Long Does It Take You To Decorate A Cookie?

Baking By sweet56pooh Updated 18 Oct 2011 , 11:44am by CookieCrazy_grozzie11

sweet56pooh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet56pooh Posted 10 Oct 2011 , 12:37pm
post #1 of 9

hi fellow decorators! I'm just curious to see how long does it take you, on average, to decorate a cookie. I'm doing a tinker bell cookie design and I thought it might take me five hours to do 36 cookies. Its turning into 15 hours and I'm still not done! icon_eek.gif I still need to add the details of her face. Am I just slow or this is about normal? TIA!

8 replies
carleen2140 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carleen2140 Posted 11 Oct 2011 , 1:54pm
post #2 of 9

Your going to find bakers on here that have it down to a science, and can be done very quickly. I am an occasional baker, I tried to organize step by step, but for some reason just doesn't work out. If it's only a 2 colored cookie, then I have no problem, but when I have several colors and face details, then your talking a couple of days.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 11 Oct 2011 , 2:25pm
post #3 of 9

Depends on the design, too. I did 50 Hello Kitty cookies for Macy's Dept store and it took me 3 or 5 hours (been so long I can't remember but it was AT LEAST 3 hrs.) just to decorate. Did 100 simple, one-color cookies shaped like a dog biscuit and I had them decorated AND bagged in an hour.

GeminiRJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GeminiRJ Posted 11 Oct 2011 , 5:55pm
post #4 of 9

I have come to accept the fact that I am a slow decorator! With most of my designs I can get 4 cookies done per hour. Sometimes more, sometimes less. It just all depends on how much detail there is. Much of my time is spent outlining the final design, so more detail equals more time.

sweet56pooh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet56pooh Posted 12 Oct 2011 , 7:06am
post #5 of 9