Smoothing Cold Swiss Meringue Buttercream-Problem

Decorating By springlakecake Updated 16 Dec 2016 , 1:51pm by therollingpinbakery

springlakecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
springlakecake Posted 9 Oct 2011 , 1:40pm
post #1 of 67

I asked this question once. Anyway, a few months back I saw a video where the swiss meringue was chilled and then scraped away for a perfectly smooth finish. Genius! Anyway I have been using this technique for a few months but there is a problem. After the icing comes back to room temp. hundreds of tiny(non broken) air bubbles form on the cake. It looks terrible! It's fine if under fondant cakes, but not for buttercream only. It appears as if the cake has acne!

So my theory is that as your are smoothing the cold cake, you smooth over tiny air pockets and airbubbles sealing tiny bits of air inside. When the cake comes back to room temp, the air trapped inside expands causing the airbubble to form.

When I asked this question before, the other person said they did not have this problem, so I don't know what I could be doing wrong! Just curious if anyone else uses this technique or experience the cake acne? Would love to solve this problem!! thanks for any advice

66 replies
crushed Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crushed Posted 9 Oct 2011 , 6:22pm
post #2 of 67

I am curious about this too. I also find that if the SMBC is tinted in any way, the color looks awful too. I'll be watching to see if anyone has any ideas how to stop this from happening.

jolle100 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jolle100 Posted 9 Oct 2011 , 6:30pm
post #3 of 67

is it possible that you incorporated more air into your buttercream when mixing in the butter? Kind of like a sponge cake vs. a mud cake?

cakestyles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakestyles Posted 9 Oct 2011 , 8:58pm
post #4 of 67

To smooth out those air bubbles I keep a pot of simmering water nearby to dip my spatula or bench scraper in.