Gourmet White Chocolate Questions

Baking By vicki3336 Updated 8 Oct 2011 , 7:29am by scp1127

vicki3336 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vicki3336 Posted 6 Oct 2011 , 6:16pm
post #1 of 11

I'm planning to make a white chocolate mud cake and since I am relatively new to the world of high end ingredients, I bought some Valrhona, Green and Blacks, Callebaut and Guittard. While the Valrhona and Green and Black's taste is pleasant and smoothe, the Guittard didn't seem to have much flavor and the Callebaut, in my opinion, just didn't taste good. I know that my taste buds are slowly changing from being exposed to finer ingredients and perhaps are not where they should be (I used to just looove canned frosting and French Vanilla Coffeemate...neither of which I can tolerate now), I was wondering what others thought. What is white chocolate supposed to taste like (mainly a rhetorical question)? Does the flavor change when baked/cooked? I always thought of white chocolate as "vanilla chocolate" (if that makes any sense). Perhaps my palette is too used to vanilla chips like Nestle's and it will grow on me? Sorry for rambling. Just got a lot of $$$ in white chocolate in my pantry. Do any of you have a brand preference?

10 replies
jules5000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jules5000 Posted 6 Oct 2011 , 6:34pm
post #2 of 11