My Client Din't Like The Taste Of Hershey's Chocolate Cake

Decorating By ambss Updated 7 Oct 2011 , 5:59pm by ambss

ambss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ambss Posted 6 Oct 2011 , 2:35pm
post #1 of 14

I am new to cake business and i had a last minute order last weekend for a birthday cake. The decorations went fine ...later my client sent me a message that the toppers were good but no one liked the taste of the cake much and now she was left with more than half the cake icon_sad.gif

I used hershey's chocolate cake recipe for both the tiers with fondant... (i have been using this recipe for so long with fresh cream and all but yeah without fondant and all my friends and family simply love it... this was my first time that i used this recipe with fondant on it with these fillings: one tier with cream cheese filling and chocolate butter cream ... for the second tier i used french vanilla with chocolate ganache......... i just don't know where i went wrong.......... i felt so bad... and i was so confident that they will love the taste of the cake... but this has made me so confused that i now have decided to change my chocolate cake recipe for all the future orders and also not to entertain any last minute orders..... please help me understand where did i go wrong and what should i reply to her?

13 replies
Lovelyladylibra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lovelyladylibra Posted 6 Oct 2011 , 2:41pm
post #2 of 14

Honestly I hate the ream cheese filling inside the Hershey chocolate cake. It leaves an odd aftertaste. So does my family. But we love it with any other filling. Are you sure it was the cake and not the cake/filling or cake/frosting combo?

SandiOh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandiOh Posted 6 Oct 2011 , 2:43pm
post #3 of 14

sure she's just not trying to get some money back?

ambss Posted 6 Oct 2011 , 3:29pm
post #4 of 14