Help Me Please! Frosting And Fondant

Decorating By SweetPea_HeatherG Updated 6 Oct 2011 , 7:26pm by SweetPea_HeatherG

SweetPea_HeatherG Posted 5 Oct 2011 , 8:49pm
post #1 of 9

Hello! =) How do you color frosting and fondant to the color it's supposed to be? I've tried red, but it comes out pink. I've done black, but it comes out gray. I keep adding color but once it get's to a certain color, it doesn't color anymore.

I am new at this so I would really appreciate your help! I love this website!! =) So many great pictures and very nice people!!

Thank you! Have a beautiful day! icon_biggrin.gif

8 replies
kakeladi Posted 5 Oct 2011 , 9:08pm
post #2 of 9

Check out my reply in this thread re: black.
Somewhere on here I also have directions on how to make red icing but can't find the actual thread right now.

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopicp-7215068.html#7215068

Remember with b'cream these very saturated (deep, dark) colors will darken further over time so make them at least 12-24 hours ahead, then they still will darken a bit more as they are exposed to air. So your gray will probably turn charcol gray after it is on the cake.
Now fondant is a different animal. Colors *lighten* a shade or two as the fondant dries so don't make it too dark icon_smile.gif

shawnteel Posted 5 Oct 2011 , 9:09pm
post #3 of 9

No matter the brand red and black are the hardest colors to achieve. For black I sometimes start out with a brown or purple basethen ass black to it but it takes a LOT of color to get what you are looking for. Same as red, just have to add a LOT to your material to get the shade you desire. The colors will come out more as they sit as well so if you color your frosing maybe the day before you need it, it will darken up some for you.

tiggy2 Posted 5 Oct 2011 , 9:14pm
post #4 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnteel