What The Heck Is Going On?!

Baking By MikeRowesHunny Updated 6 Oct 2011 , 7:56am by scp1127

MikeRowesHunny Posted 4 Oct 2011 , 8:43am
post #1 of 17

Every single cake i have baked over the last few days has turned out like the picture attached - testing done but with large gummy patches.

I am an experienced scratch baker and I'm using the same recipes that I've used for years, and flower nails in the centre. I don't understand why this is happening, but I'm running out of time & money to get these baked up properly!

The baking powder is new (and I've had the same happen with 2 different pots of bp), I've tried baking at a higher temp, lower temp, for longer etc etc etc - but still this result. I am about to cry. Any ideas what could be causing this or what I can do to solve it? Desperate now icon_sad.gif

16 replies
cutiger Posted 4 Oct 2011 , 8:57am
post #2 of 17

It's not just you! I had the exact same thing happen to me. Must be the humidity in the air. That's all I can figure. Oh well, misery loves company! icon_razz.gif

Panel7124 Posted 4 Oct 2011 , 10:42am
post #3 of 17

sorry, which picture?

MikeRowesHunny Posted 4 Oct 2011 , 11:01am
post #4 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panel7124

sorry, which picture?

I can't get it to attach to my post - which doesn't surprise me with this site these days.

Panel7124 Posted 4 Oct 2011 , 11:14am
post #5 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeRowesHunny

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panel7124

sorry, which picture?

I can't get it to attach to my post - which doesn't surprise me with this site these days.

I know, it doesn't work...

Mike, are you from Holland? I bought some fondant from funcakes.nl - don't you know which brand do they use? (it's repacked under their name). Is it Regalice?