Found A Kitchen To Rent!

Business By RebelsLGB Updated 6 Oct 2011 , 11:32am by RebelsLGB

RebelsLGB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RebelsLGB Posted 4 Oct 2011 , 12:02am
post #1 of 13

I don't post on here that often, but I lurk all the time icon_smile.gif Anyway...Ive been decorating cakes for 4 or 5 years now...I would be lying if I said I never got paid to make cakes, but they are always for family or friends...friends of friends etc, and they WANT to pay me, so who am I to say no?

Anyway, Everytime I make a cake for a friend's event I get asked non-stop about my business, am I a professional, can I do a cake for other people's events etc. I am always honest and say that it is just a hobby, that I wish I were a professional, but the laws make it dufficult for me to be legal (I'm in NJ). A lot of people don't care and want me to bake for them anyway, but it does make me uncomfortable, mostly because of food allergies and a fear of getting sued and loosing my house etc..

Anyway, I made some cupcakes for a Bridal Shower this weekend for my mother-in-law's godcild. They were just simple cupcakes with a flower on top (the purple & leopard ones in my profile). Not only were the guests wanting me to make cakes for them, but other vendors were wanting to now network with me. So this motivated me to try and find kitchen space to rent, and I found one that is right down the street from where I work full time and it's $20/hr., no minimum hours, just use it when I need it. I obviously have to get a license and insurance and LLC and all that too. I actualy already have a logo, name & website registered (nothing on the website though.)

I seriously love doing cakes, and my dream is to one day have a storefront, I'm pretty set on my pricing as well, people always seem to think I'm reasonable, I'd have to possibly raise them a little bit to cover the kitchen rent.