Pintrest?

Decorating By seedrv Updated 5 Oct 2011 , 8:02pm by costumeczar

seedrv Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
seedrv Posted 3 Oct 2011 , 5:42pm
post #1 of 14

What do you know about Pintrest? Is it something that a cake business should look into being a part of? I can barely handle all of the Facebook changes. I'm not sure I'll have the wits to do another social network but wonder if any of you out there had any exxperience with pintrest. Thanks for sharing your info!!

13 replies
imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagenthatnj Posted 3 Oct 2011 , 6:19pm
post #2 of 14

Pinterest. I like it. It's fun, very graphic, and a picture just drags you into checking out the site where the photo is held. All I know is creative people are very much into it. It is not like Facebook at all. You don't even have to have an account with them to go to the sites and check out the amazing stuff in there.

I have no experience whatsoever with a cake business there. But when my aunt starts her jewelry business, I will for sure recommend that her photos are pinned there by someone. I love using the search feature to find amazing photos about my subject.

I try to avoid going there during business hours, because it drags me into places, and I don't come back for a few hours...lol

southerncross Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
southerncross Posted 3 Oct 2011 , 6:27pm
post #3 of 14

I use Pintrest and like it. It allows me to save things o find on the Internet without having a lot of bookmarked pages. It allows you to keep saved items on separate folders of your choice. So I have wedding cake folder, birthday cake folders Etc. You can select whether others can view your folders. When you drag a picture to your folder it identifies the source although I always try to include the name of the baker on my own description. I think it could be another great source of word of mouth advertising. some sites like Facebook don't let you "pin" pictures.