How Do You Remove Ps From Fondant Accents?

Decorating By pinky73 Updated 3 Oct 2011 , 1:10am by heartsnsync

pinky73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinky73 Posted 30 Sep 2011 , 3:00pm
post #1 of 10

I am very new to decorating and especially fondant. I have done a few fonant accent decorations recently and they look great on the countertop..until I have to lift and move them, the dark colored pieces get smudged with the powdered sugar or more recently, cornstarch I use to "flour" the rolling surface. So all of my pieces have white, dusty backsides. How do you clean them up? Most times it doesn't matter too much..but I'm working on my high school reunion cake ( due tomorrow) and am in tears because the stupid cornstarch is ruining the maroon and dark grey letters I'm cutting out by hand. Also, i made MMF and colored it maroon, and it's been very difficult to work with, very stretchy and sticky..I'm not sure it's supposed to be that way. Any advice anyone is willing to share would be greatly appreciated.

9 replies
paula0712 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paula0712 Posted 30 Sep 2011 , 3:06pm
post #2 of 10

Hi! When my fondant pieces get ps or cornstarch on them, I take a dry brush and brush off what I can, then I take some shortening on the brush and sort of lightly "paint" on them. This takes the ps or cornstarch off and makes them shiny, but the shortening will soak in and they won't stay really shiny. I'm sorry I can't help you with the mmf issues... I've never made it successfully, therefore never worked with it.

msulli10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msulli10 Posted 30 Sep 2011 , 3:06pm
post #3 of 10

Some people use a steamer - very carefully though. You don't want your fondant to get goopy.
I sometimes use a little shortening or else try to brush it off with a slightly damp paint brush.

kathie-d Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kathie-d Posted 30 Sep 2011 , 3:15pm
post #4 of 10