I Need Advise

Decorating By Tfaye Updated 1 Oct 2011 , 12:13am by Tfaye

Tfaye Posted 30 Sep 2011 , 1:38am
post #1 of 10

If I put the dowels in, and plate seperaters, can I stack my cake tonight or should I wait until the night before I deliever the cake to stack the cake and put the fondant on it? I don't want it to cave in.

I've never done a 16 inch stacked cake before.

Thanks
Tammy

9 replies
VaBelle Posted 30 Sep 2011 , 2:00am
post #2 of 10

I would assume that if your cake is properly supported, it won't cave in no matter when you stack. Because of timing issues, I usually do mine the day before, but I've read of people here having their cakes ready earlier whether it be their time schedule or the clients.

CWR41 Posted 30 Sep 2011 , 2:00am
post #3 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfaye

If I put the dowels in, and plate seperaters, can I stack my cake tonight or should I wait until the night before I deliever the cake to stack the cake and put the fondant on it? I don't want it to cave in.

It won't cave in, if it's supported properly.
http://www.wilton.com/cakes/tiered-cakes/stacked-tiered-cake-construction.cfm

BTW, the fondant goes on it before the dowels and plate separators.

jules5000 Posted 30 Sep 2011 , 2:05am
post #4 of 10

tfaye: when do you deliver it? If it is only a day or so away, I would go ahead and stack it now, that is I assume what you are planning to do and deliver it stacked? WHy not put the fondant on it before you stack it? Why not take it and stack it there? just ideas. I guess it depends on how big it is going to be. If youare only talking like 3 tiers then that is another story. just make sure you put plenty of dowels in for support for the bigger layers. How big is the cake that is going on top of the 16"? Have you ever used those plastic dowel rods that Wilton puts out? I like those better when it is a large size cake that I am putting together. It just seems a little better supported.

Best wishes.