I'm About To Give Up...

Decorating By step0nmi Updated 25 Sep 2011 , 11:33pm by Ursula40

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 25 Sep 2011 , 10:52pm
post #1 of 6

I'm thinking it may almost be time to hang up my apron icon_sad.gif

yes, i am a home baker and only do these cakes on the side...for little money and i've heard the whole spiel from everyone on here icon_redface.gif sorry, just can't hear it now.

but our area is getting OVER saturated! icon_cry.gif every time i turn around to even offer my FREE services i get "my aunt or my friend is making our cake". it's starting to get a little ridiculous! icon_mad.gif

I would love to continue, but it almost seems impossible with everyone thinking they can be a cake decorator! And while i totally know that my services and product, on top of the talent and love i have for cake decorating, would be exceptional compared to that "friend" that is just starting out...it just gets me down and makes me sooo frustrated.

I had two orders in the bag this week...was going to do consultations this weekend and then either the "friend" offered up their help icon_razz.gif or the person found someone closer to them to do it! of course they wont go for me now! and all i'm wanting is to keep perfecting what I'm doing/gaining more skills...and i can't even do that with handing out free cakes icon_cry.gif

I don't know how others are handling things in their area or if it's even going the same. but in the midwest it seems that everyone, plus their mom, plus their friend is a cake decorator and/or can do it themselves.

what do you do when you get stopped at every turn you make?

heartbroken,
Stephanie

5 replies
Ursula40 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ursula40 Posted 25 Sep 2011 , 11:10pm
post #2 of 6