Storefront Grand Opening Saturday

Business By KayMc Updated 25 Sep 2011 , 7:22pm by KayMc

KayMc Posted 25 Sep 2011 , 12:42pm
post #1 of 8

Yesterday I was at a street fair in a small town. There was also a grand opening of a cupcake store in this town. Perfect location: right on the main street, close to the main intersection. I was excited to go try one out, as I've been hungry for a good cupcake. (as a hobbyist, I only bake if I have a specific reason. I don't want cake sitting around, as it will soon be in my stomach).

I went in the store - cute little store, just perfect for a cupcake business. I'm thinking that this person really had a fabulous thing here. Then I tasted the cupcake. They were smaller than a normal cupcake - not a mini cupcake, but smaller than normal cupcakes. I got a chocolate with PB frosting. I can't tell you how disappointed I was. The cake was DRY. And a dry cupcake is a disaster. The PB frosting had barely any PB taste. The frosting wasn't bad, it just wasn't that good.

I was terribly disappointed. To me, a cupcake should be moist and deliscious. And the frosting should be GREAT. This wasn't worth the calories.

7 replies
kakeladi Posted 25 Sep 2011 , 1:04pm
post #2 of 8

There *are some* people out there that like dry cake icon_sad.gif It's their loss not to have a good tasting, moist cuppie.
Sorry you were sooooo disappointed.

MimiFix Posted 25 Sep 2011 , 1:33pm
post #3 of 8

This new business will learn and do a better job, or lose customers.

I love bakeries and always stop in to look and buy anything that seems interesting. If you own (or plan on starting) a business, it's called market research. Save your receipts, purchases are tax deductible. More often than not I've been disappointed with some products.

I blog about my bakery tours. I try not to write anything mean or be too hard on them, but occasionally I feel the necessity of warning my readers. Some bakeries are so awful I don't write anything.