Would You Pay A 'proper' Price For My Cakes?

Decorating By jennifercullen Updated 25 Sep 2011 , 2:43pm by jennifercullen

jennifercullen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jennifercullen Posted 24 Sep 2011 , 3:27pm
post #1 of 19

I dont really know how to word this correctly, I do know that a lot of you personally would not pay for a custom cake, so I'm not going to ask if you'd buy my cake. I have only been making cakes since the end of March this year, so I know I am not experienced and I dont want to set up a proper business because I'd like to be a LOT more experienced before I do that.

My thing is, I make cakes now for friends and family, which isn't exactly a massive network! I only charge people what it costs me to make the cake for ingredients and little extras like boards dowels etc. But for example, this month I've had a total of 9 cakes. (I still have 3 to do this week) and one set of cupcake toppers. I've worked pretty much every night this month on cakes so I'm feeling like I would like to start charging a bit more for them. I'm wondering if you think I can justify this with my level of skill?

I still only plan on doing them for friends and family, not trying to get a network of clients or anything...

18 replies
ConfectionsCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ConfectionsCC Posted 24 Sep 2011 , 3:54pm
post #2 of 19

I think you cakes are great!!! If you live in a state with a cottage law, I would give serious thought into trying to get a licensed kitchen so that you can sell them legally. You don't have to advertise or anything, maybe just a FB page and word of mouth until you feel your skills are worthy of higher prices and more customers! I am doing this now because making "favors" all the time became very overwhelming and costly. Not to mention the # of hours I spent making these cakes for no $$ icon_sad.gif Go for it! It is soooooo worth it!!

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 24 Sep 2011 , 4:10pm
post #3 of 19