Supplying Your Products To Others

Business By dhara Updated 20 Sep 2011 , 12:40am by dhara

dhara Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dhara Posted 17 Sep 2011 , 10:51pm
post #1 of 12

Hi girls!

Please help with my query, I'm wracking my brain thinking about it. I'm new to the cake business. I supply my cakes to my brother in law's cafe. I am yet to receive any payments and we never discussed profits.

My questions are:

When you work out costs, you include your hourly rate right?
On top of this, you get a percentage of the profit surely? Otherwise it wouldn't be worth our precious time! What would be a reasonable profit share that we should expect?

The reason I'm asking this is that my hubby has confused me. He thinks that if we are getting paid hourly, should we claim percentage of the profit unless we are business partners? Would it make more sense to set a price and sell it at that price to others and they can mark it up for their own profits?
Any help would be appreciated as I need to sort this out asap!

11 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 17 Sep 2011 , 11:42pm
post #2 of 12

There are a number of different ways to approach this situation.

1. Get hired by the cafe as a employee or independent contractor. In this case you would be paid an hourly wage, and all ingredients and supplies would be provided by the cafe.

2. Become a partner in the cafe where you would share in the profits. Usually this accompanies an investment of cash or sweat equity.

3. Maintain your own business and sell wholesale to the cafe. The cafe would buy your products, mark them up, and sell them at retail. This puts the risk on the cafe unless there is a clause where you buy back unsold products.