For Those With Edible Image Printers....

Decorating By sweettooth622 Updated 22 Sep 2011 , 5:17pm by icingimages

sweettooth622 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettooth622 Posted 16 Sep 2011 , 7:16pm
post #1 of 15

Hi ~ After doing my most recent cake, I realized that I REALLY need to get a printer that uses edible ink. I found a list of printers online that accept edible ink, but there are SO many. icon_cry.gif
I'm just a Hobby Baker, so I can't spend a ton of money on one, but my questions to you fellow cakers who have printers already are:
Which one do you have? Are you happy with it? and which ones should I steer clear of?
Thank you!

14 replies
pmarks0 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pmarks0 Posted 16 Sep 2011 , 8:15pm
post #2 of 15

Check the Icing Images forum. There's tons of info there.

Comerio Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Comerio Posted 16 Sep 2011 , 8:39pm
post #3 of 15

I don't know how they fair comparatively.. but I have the Epson Stylus C120.. and it goes thru edible ink like it's going out of style. It prints great, but there must be a model that is easier on the ink (and on the wallet).

Comerio Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Comerio Posted 16 Sep 2011 , 8:48pm
post #4 of 15

After giving it a little more thought.. You may want to consider using pre-printed icing sheets from Lucks. They have hundreds of designs and patterns.. and since you don't plan on using a pricey printer all that much, this may be an option worth considering. They are at www.lucks.com

Mikel79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mikel79 Posted 16 Sep 2011 , 10:22pm
post #5 of 15

I have a Canon IP4700. LOVE IT!!!!

Here is a picture of a cake I did with it...

http://cakecentral.com/gallery/2154470

You can use any brand printer, but Canon is the best for edible printing.

HTH

Michael

CVB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CVB Posted 16 Sep 2011 , 10:42pm
post #6 of 15