Cake For Little Girl That Passed From Cancer

Decorating By jamieq Updated 22 Sep 2011 , 5:19pm by jamieq

jamieq Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jamieq Posted 12 Sep 2011 , 10:30pm
post #1 of 12

I am at a heartbreaking loss as to what to do for this family. I have been asked to bake a cake to be donated to a post-funeral reception for a little girl that has bravely lost her battle with her cancer. I need a cake that will not only capture the spirit of this happy 7 year old girl, but be respectful of the grief the family and friends are currently experiencing with her departure. I am fairly new at decorating, and each new cake is a learning experience...

Does anyone have any ideas that as a novice, I can pull off? I would like to deliver a cake that does this little girl justice...

Thanks for your imput!!!

11 replies
Piece_acake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Piece_acake Posted 12 Sep 2011 , 10:45pm
post #2 of 12

How sweet of you to do this for the family! I would do a pale yellow 2 or 3 tier cake with cascading daffodils (official flower). Or maybe you can have an edible image printed of the little girl and place it on top of a cake that is covered in daffodils? hope that helps icon_smile.gif

imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagenthatnj Posted 12 Sep 2011 , 10:54pm
post #3 of 12

I would do something like on this link. Simple and sweet, pastel colors.

http://sweetopia.net/2010/01/baking-for-haiti/

jamieq Posted 12 Sep 2011 , 10:58pm
post #4 of 12

I love both of these ideas. I love that they would be simple... I don't want something grandeur above my skill level. piece_acake... I think yours would be beautiful, and what the family is looking for. I appreciate so much the idea!!

Annabakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Annabakescakes Posted 22 Sep 2011 , 12:58pm
post #5 of 12

Oh Gawd! No edible image, how morbid, and no one will want to cut it or eat it! Awkward and horrible!