What Do You Charge For Cupcakes?

Baking By bluedaisies Updated 10 Sep 2011 , 3:46am by mplaidgirl2

bluedaisies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bluedaisies Posted 7 Sep 2011 , 9:16pm
post #1 of 15

I'm going to start selling cupcakes and mini cupcakes. Since I'm a home baker under the cottage food law, they'll be sold by at least dozens. Just looking to see what everyone else charges for theirs?

TIA!

14 replies
DallasTexas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DallasTexas Posted 7 Sep 2011 , 11:43pm
post #2 of 15

(Sorry--double post!)

DallasTexas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DallasTexas Posted 7 Sep 2011 , 11:44pm
post #3 of 15

I guess the price per dozen depends on where you are, other places for people to get cupcakes, your client base, how they are decorated and what your ingredients & materials cost you, plus your time, etc.

For regular-size vanilla/vanilla bean or chocolate cupcakes with a vanilla/vanilla bean or chocolate buttercream frosting, I'd probably charge $12/dozen. These are VERY PLAIN cupcakes--no filling.

If I fancied them up by making them a different flavor (or even putting in chocolate chips and chocolate chunks for a triple chocolate fantasy for example), with a filling, and with a fancier flavor for the frosting, and decorated nicely with a drizzle, candied fruit, whatever, I'd charge more, of course. Fancy schmancy cherry cuppies are a good option for charging more (use the Search feature for the recipe and ideas for decorating).

For the minis, vanilla/vanilla bean or chocolate with vanilla/vanilla bean or chocolate buttercream frosting (VERY PLAIN minis--no filling), I'd probably do $6/doz.

Serena4016 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Serena4016 Posted 8 Sep 2011 , 12:05am
post #4 of 15