Food Festival - How Much Should I Make?

Business By pmaxxie Updated 8 Sep 2011 , 1:23pm by pmaxxie

pmaxxie Posted 6 Sep 2011 , 10:19pm
post #1 of 14

Hi,

This is my first time posting.

I am trying to get a Cheesecake business off the ground. I have an opportunity to have a booth (free) at a festival that has a variety of food vendors. They range from pizza to chicken to burger and usually ice cream.

It is held on the church grounds and it draws anywhere from 4 - 6,000 people, depending on the weather.

My question is: we have to have samples - how many should I make?

And I was going to offer slices (smaller than I would normally offer) and sell them for around $1.50 each - I will still make money.

Trying to get the word out, rather than make a killing right now.

How many slices should I make?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Pat

13 replies
MimiFix Posted 6 Sep 2011 , 10:40pm
post #2 of 14

Is providing samples part of your agreement to have a booth? The samples should be very small, one bite is enough, just so people can have a taste of your awesome cheesecake. And you don't have to give everyone a sample; a couple hundred should be more than enough.

QTCakes1 Posted 7 Sep 2011 , 12:46am
post #3 of 14

There is a HUGE difference between attendence of 4 to 6,000. You have next to no one and then a serioulsy huge crowd, so coming up with quantities would be next to impossible for me. Is there any way to get a better number count?

pmaxxie Posted 7 Sep 2011 , 12:48am
post #4 of 14

Yes, you are supposed to have samples available.

Do you think a couple hundred would be good for 4 - 6,000 people?

How many do you think I should do for slices?

Thanks

pmaxxie Posted 7 Sep 2011 , 12:51am
post #5 of 14

I'm sorry - I meant there would be between 4,000 - 6,000 people.

What do you think I should do?

QTCakes1 Posted 7 Sep 2011 , 1:12am
post #6 of 14