Okay, Give Me Your Honest Opinion On My Pricing....

Decorating By lolobell Updated 20 Sep 2011 , 3:53am by lolobell

lolobell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lolobell Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 9:55pm
post #1 of 51

I have a friend...who is having a baby shower. her sister (very picky and demanding) wants a 3 tier fake cake (18 inch, 16 inch and 12 inch) with very specific design ideas (that she has changed her mind 3 times now)...also, 30 cupcakes, and 30 custom cookies bagged and tied.

i charged her $220 for the entire order. the fake cake she thought would be cheaper...welllllllllllllllllll, to cover a cake that size in fondant and to decorate is costing me over $70..not to mention the board, ribbon to trim...design elements. now we are at odds. she wants it all for $150. i can't do that. i had to rent a cricut cartridge to get the designs she wanted...i'm just a hobby baker..i don't have access to wholesale prices...or fancy equipment... SIGH

Am I OVER PRICED?????

50 replies
matthewkyrankelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
matthewkyrankelly Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 10:11pm
post #2 of 51

Well, take All of your costs. Add to that an hourly wage for all of the time it took you. Sprinkle in the overhead costs that home bakers and hobbyists forget to account. Add on at least 30% for a profit margin and see what that gets you.

If you are over that amount, you might be a little overpriced. But not much.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 10:13pm
post #3 of 51

We typically charge the same price for fake cake as real cake, since the labor cost is about the same, and the cost of the dummy rounds themselves are roughly equivalent to the ingredient cost of the cake. A tiered cake with 18/16/12" rounds would be about 285 servings, and our starting price would be $1425 for the cake alone.