Kopykake Frosting Sheets

Decorating By Abacoboy21 Updated 7 Sep 2011 , 3:01am by Abacoboy21

Abacoboy21 Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 11:46am
post #1 of 6

Good day everybody, I'm fairly new to using frosting sheets on cake actually this morning was the first time I ever used a frosting sheet. Here's my horror story lol! I had just finished decorating a birthday cake and now it was time for the picture to go on the cake. I struggled trying to get the frosting sheet to lift of the paper it was mounted it! Finally after rubbing it against the corner of the kitchen table for a few seconds I got a portion of it to release from the backing paper. The remainder WOULD NOT LIFT! So I used a spatula and lifted the frosting sheet manually. Then When i finally got it off the sheet started to tear in my hands and it became a big mess! I just dropped it on the table and was like "forget this" lol. Can somebody direct me as to the correct procedures for using the frosting sheets.

5 replies
kakeladi Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 12:00pm
post #2 of 6

I used 100s of those and some of them can be a problem getting off the backing paper icon_sad.gif
Put it in the fzr for a short time - maybe 10 minutes and it should pop right off.
Usually, when it is difficult to get off the backing, it is old and dried out icon_sad.gif
Yes, once off the backing it is difficult to handle. One must be right near the cake and veery quickly move to place it on. And you only get ONE chance......if it is not positioned right you seldom, if ever, can move it.

icingimages Posted 6 Sep 2011 , 11:18pm
post #3 of 6