Inception Cake Help

Decorating By Aeolytheis Updated 1 Oct 2011 , 12:26am by Marianna46

Aeolytheis Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 4:02am
post #1 of 9

Hi Everyone icon_smile.gif

I'm quite new to cake decorating, but I'm making an inception themed 20th Birthday cake for one of my best friends, so far I have madee the four totems out of gum paste (spinning top, dice, poker chip & bishop).[pictures coming soon]

The problem I'm having is what to cover the cake with and how to arrange the toppers on top as they are four separate pieces.

My options are buttercream with a border, or covering in fondant. I think maybe the fondant option might give a crisper corporate look I want, perhaps in a dark blue colour and stenciling a silver maze on too?

I'd love to hear any thoughts and opinions because I feel a little overwhelmed at my options icon_smile.gif

Thanks in advance -

8 replies
Marianna46 Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 4:45am
post #2 of 9

Are you really good at making a smooth buttercream finish? I ask, because I'm awful at it and would rather do fondant any day. Also, for this type of cake, I agree with your assessment that fondant would give you the look that your want. As for the symbols, I would make them and then group them in different ways before you put them on the cake to see what looks the best.

Aeolytheis Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 10:21am
post #3 of 9

I'm not perfect with buttercream, like I can get the surface fairly smooth but the edges need a bit of work icon_smile.gif

The totems I made are here

I'm wondering if a stencilled silver maze would work on a dark fondant?

would the fondant have to be purchased in a dark colour or could I dye my own icon_confused.gif

TIA thumbs_up.gif

Marianna46 Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 10:33pm
post #4 of 9