Serving Size

Baking By SnLSweetEscapes Updated 9 Sep 2011 , 4:50am by Annabakescakes

SnLSweetEscapes Posted 3 Sep 2011 , 4:49pm
post #1 of 6

What do you all say is a serving size for cupcakes? For example, how many people should order for a wedding or party. A lot of people ask me and it is so hard for me to give them a number because some guests will only eat one, some 2 and some none. So I started to say 1 1/2 per person. And for minis I usually say 3. What do you think?

5 replies
Apti Posted 3 Sep 2011 , 5:15pm
post #2 of 6

I'm a hobby baker, but I'd say ONE standard cupcake is a serving, and 2 mini-cupcakes are a serving.

Indydebi has written an excellent article on the 60% rule:

http://cateritsimple.blogspot.com/2009/07/debis-60-rule-or-why-rsvps-dont-work.html

DallasTexas Posted 4 Sep 2011 , 4:23am
post #3 of 6

I think it also depends on the flavors of the cupcakes. If they are all the same flavors with the same toppings, then for standard size cuppies, I'd say one per person. If they are different flavors/toppings, probably people would be tempted to have one of each.

For minis, I'd say two is a serving size if all the minis are the same kind.

If they are different kinds/flavors/toppings of minis, then people don't feel guilty about trying ALL the kinds there are because, after all, they're minis and they are "just a bite" and really *don't have as many calories.* Yeah, that's how I see it too, ha ha !

People generally will want to sample the minis if they are different, so if you're making four different flavors/toppings, figure most folks may just have one of each and plan accordingly.

Whatever you do, you may want to specify in your contract that for a wedding with a total guest list of 50 people, you will provide 50 standard size vanilla bean cupcakes with strawberry creme frosting. If you are doing minis for a guest list of 50 people, state that you will provide, say, 75 vanilla bean mini cupcakes with strawberry creme frosting.