Craft Show Questions

Business By pj22 Updated 5 Sep 2011 , 6:52pm by pj22

pj22 Posted 3 Sep 2011 , 2:03am
post #1 of 29

Hi Everyone!

So I just signed up for a booth at a holiday craft show happening for the first time ever. They do not know how many people to expect and how the outcome will be.

I am totally new to the business and saw this as a great opportunity to break into the market and get word out about my business. I got a 10x10 booth for $30 so it was a good deal I suppose?

I have the following questions and would really really appreciate guidance from all of you out there. Thanks so much for reading and answering!

1. I am thinking of making vanilla, chocolate and red velvet mini cupcakes, about a 100 of each flavor. It is totally a shot in the dark and I have no idea if I will sell out or have lots left over but is this a good number to go with? I am also planning to make 3 - 12x18 sheets of brownies.

2. I am completely confused about display and packaging. I plan to cling wrap individual brownies pieces and display them but what should I do with cupcakes? I want a cute eye-catching display so I wanted to make my own display stands like these: http://www.cakejournal.com/archives/how-to-make-a-cake-stand-for-cupcakes-or-mini-cakes but can I leave the cupcakes out and sell from there? The show will be from 10 to 3 pm.

I really want these stands with the domes http://www.flickr.com/photos/houseofsweetsbakery/2635589336/

http://www.classichostess.com/terrasetoftwocupcakestandswithdomes.aspx

but I will be left with these expensive ones with no use later as I don't really have a client base or a store front. Can I find these domes cheap somewhere? I'm planning to visit thrift stores but any place else?