1St Wedding Cake. Please Help!

Decorating By CakeCrystals Updated 2 Sep 2011 , 9:58pm by BizCoCos

CakeCrystals Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeCrystals Posted 1 Sep 2011 , 12:16pm
post #1 of 8

I was approached by a co-worker about doing a cake for her daughter's wedding reception. The colors are purple, black, & white. She wanted the cake to be: 1 tier, pure white, 1 tier purple, 1 tier black. On the outside of the cake she wanted Black fondant with a koi fish on it.

I told her that I am not an artist and I can't draw worth crap. I came up with a Koi pattern in black & white, but my problem is transferring the koi pattern onto black fondant and then creating a gradient pattern of white and purple for the fish.

I managed to talk her out of the black cake but not the black fondant. I also let her know what type of expense she'll be facing with this cake. She said to me, "You mean to tell me that i'll be paying more for the cake than I did for the reception?" Wow! BTW, I attempted to pain the fish in the colors requested and tried to do the gradient effect and screwed it up completely.

I can do the cake, but the koi is a different story all together. Can anyone in CakeLand help me with transferring a koi fish pattern on a black fondant cake and then painting the koi with a gradient effect.

Sorry this is so long, but I desperately need help.

Crystal

7 replies
MissLisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissLisa Posted 1 Sep 2011 , 1:10pm
post #2 of 8

I would use a piece of white fondant and paint it as needed and then attach it to the cake. It would be raised off the black fondant just the thickness of the fondant you used.

As for the cake, she wants the actual cake to be white, purple and black? YUCK! Personally, I would steer her away from that. As a guest at the reception, if I were served either black or purple cake, it'd sit right there on the plate! I mean after all, what flavor is purple? Or black for that matter?