Health Dept Restriction. What To Do Now?

Business By ScrumdidlyCakes Updated 6 Sep 2011 , 3:34pm by ScrumdidlyCakes

ScrumdidlyCakes Posted 1 Sep 2011 , 12:41am
post #1 of 19

So I have been talking to my countys health department about the restrictions on a home based business and my county only allows that if you have a separate kitchen not attached to living quarters(which I don't) or doing a remodel on the garage with more restrictions attached including a restroom attached. MY only other option would to fine a licensed kitchen in a church. I don't mind doing that but since I'm just starting out, I don't get more than one cake order at a time and that would barely pay the cost of renting the church.
Cake decorating is such a passion of mine so this just breaks my heart. If I'm not thinking about my wonderful husband and son, im obsessing over cakes! I work full time and cannot afford to take a big pay cut to work at a bakery in town.
Any advice on what to do next? I'm not a quitter but am starting to feel I've hit a wall

18 replies
jason_kraft Posted 1 Sep 2011 , 12:48am
post #2 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScrumdidlyCakes

MY only other option would to fine a licensed kitchen in a church. I don't mind doing that but since I'm just starting out, I don't get more than one cake order at a time and that would barely pay the cost of renting the church.

So raise your prices to include the cost of renting the church kitchen plus some profit for you.

Annabakescakes Posted 2 Sep 2011 , 6:04am
post #3 of 19

I thought I was ready to go into business 7 years ago, I was a welfare mom with 3 kids and a tiny apartment no friends or family to support me. There was no way, no how I was going to be in business, but it was a dream and a passion. I learned something new with each I did for friends and family and the occasional order.