Why Can't I Cover Tall Cakes Properly?

Decorating By rubycurls Updated 2 Sep 2011 , 4:36pm by rubycurls

rubycurls Posted 1 Sep 2011 , 12:29am
post #1 of 13

seriously I almost threw the cake across my kitchen today in a fit of rage! I am in the process of making a dr who dalek cake. It is 13" tall and has two parts - a 6" wide 5" high dome and a tapered 6 to 9" wide, 8" high bottom. Hope that makes sense.
I covered the dome fine. It took 7 attempts to cover the bottom. I ended up wrapping the fondant around the cake instead of draping it over the top. Every time I tried covering it in one go it tore either right on the top edges or somewhere along the sides. I know it must be possible to cover cakes this high as I see super smooth tall cakes on here alot but I cannot work out how to do it myself. It's driving me crazy. I'll post my finished pics on Saturday. I am already disappointed in the finish of the cake though.
It really makes me doubt myself. I'm still really new to this but I feel like giving up. I'm feeling all style and no substance at the minute. Has anyone got any tips for me? I'd really appreciate any advice.

12 replies
BlakesCakes Posted 1 Sep 2011 , 2:07am
post #2 of 13

I'd definitely cover a cake like that in individual panels or in a wrap with a side seam and a top piece.

As for covering very tall tiers in one piece, it's pretty tricky. You have to roll a piece of fondant much, much larger than you'd expect, flare it way out from the cake, smooth the top and top edge, and then work it down in small sections to avoid pleats.

rubycurls Posted 1 Sep 2011 , 2:01pm
post #3 of 13

Thanks Rae. When you cover a tall cake how do you stop the weight of the fondant tearing long the sharp top edge? It seems impossible for me!

nanefy Posted 1 Sep 2011 , 4:13pm
post #4 of 13