Modeling Chocolate Dripping Oil When Kneaded

Baking By lela77 Updated 1 Sep 2011 , 4:28am by fondantgrl

lela77 Posted 31 Aug 2011 , 3:31am
post #1 of 11

this is my first attempt at working with the modeling chocolate
i have used belgian chocolate disks from bulk barn, and corn syrup - 1lbs of chocolate, and 7 tbs of syrup
it sat in the fridge for a few hours before i took it out to see how it's going to be like
once the piece warmed up, it started getting more and more oily, to a point where the oil was dripping off from the chocolate and my hands

what am i doing wrong?

any advice would be appreciated!

10 replies
Sweetcakes23 Posted 31 Aug 2011 , 3:44am
post #2 of 11

I have only made this once, but I do remember it being oily too. But, I was told to refrig. overnight? Maybe that will make the difference. I just kept kneading and kneading, and it incoorporated it.

angelleyes Posted 31 Aug 2011 , 3:56am
post #3 of 11

I read somewhere that u have to let the chocolate cool down before u add the corn sryup. If u don't it can become to oily... And I don't think u have to put it in the fridge if I remember right

sillywabbitz Posted 31 Aug 2011 , 4:30am
post #4 of 11

The oil will absob back into the modeling chocolate if you just wrap it up and leave it on the counter.
I made a LOT of modeling chocolate for a competition piece I did and I discovered too things, over mixing it releases more oil and two , don't try and sop up the oil with a paper towel. I did that with my batch of brown and it was crumbly and harder to work with. The batch that I just wrapped up and left and then kneaded the next day was great.

olleharr Posted 31 Aug 2011 , 5:05am
post #5 of 11