**newbie** In Need Of Fondant Advice!

Decorating By Skullygirl Updated 26 Sep 2011 , 1:00pm by me_me1

Skullygirl Posted 30 Aug 2011 , 9:32pm
post #1 of 12

I am new to cake decorating, and am trying my hand at my first fondant cake! How exciting. I've been doing a lot of research online, to learn how to work with fondant, but I am having a hard time figuring out how much I will need. The cake (a robot for my son's bday) is essentially 4 separate parts wrapped in fondant individually, then pieced together. (1) 8x8x8 cube, (1) 4x4x4 cube, (2) 2x2x8 rectangles. According to my rough calcs, from the online guides, I think I need approx 130 oz. Wow! That means I will need to buy two 5lb tubs. This seems like A LOT. Are my calcs right?

Also, am I rolling to 1/4" thick? It seems like I will have to get a super long fondant rolling pin to handle the piece required for the large cube. I know you can buy ring guides...should I consider using those, and how do you work with them on such a large piece if fondant?

I am preparing to do my "test cake" next week, so any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you!!!

11 replies
debbief Posted 30 Aug 2011 , 9:56pm
post #2 of 12

I'm not the greatest when it comes to calculating how much fondant you will need. But I do have a suggestion on the 8x8x8 cube. I wouldn't try to cover the cube with one piece of fondant. Especially if you are new to fondant. I would cut 8" squares and cover each side and top separately. If you do this you may want to let them sit after rolling a bit so they don't stretch too much when you go to put them on the cake. I would also drape the sections over my rolling pin when carrying to the cake. Hope that makes sense.

I usually roll my fondant around 1/4" thick, maybe a little thinner. I've tried those ring things, but I didn't like them. They got in the way.

Also, I've never purchased fondant, I've always made my own mmf. If I had to guess, I'd probably say 2, maybe 3 batches.