Any Info On Canned Frosting For Glazing Cupcakes

Baking By wowgirl Updated 27 Aug 2011 , 4:22pm by wowgirl

wowgirl Posted 27 Aug 2011 , 12:32am
post #1 of 3

Hi Everyone,

I am new to baking and I keep reading that using canned frosting from the store is fine for glaze on a cupcake. Does anyone have any tips for me on this topic. I need 4 different colors so store bought would be easier, but I have never glazed cupcakes before. Is it better to have it very thin when dipping the cupcakes into it? Once I dip them do they need to go in the fridge to harden the glaze or to be stored? I know the can says to keep leftover icing in the fridge so do I need to keep the cupcakes in there as well?? Any info on glazing cupcakes would be greatly appreciated.

2 replies
kakeladi Posted 27 Aug 2011 , 1:16am
post #2 of 3

You bought 4 differen t cans of frosting just so you can have 4 different colors of cuppies? icon_sad.gif
It would have been much easier to make and seperate icing and color it yourself icon_smile.gif
As for thinning do about a dozen cuppies, take from the can about 1/2 the icing and microwave the remaining for about 15-30 seconds until it is liquid. They do not need to go in the fridge. The icing will harden up very quickly and the cuppies will be fine at room temp for a day or two.

wowgirl Posted 27 Aug 2011 , 4:22pm
post #3 of 3