My Cake Mounded In The Center...why????

Baking By raulel2002 Updated 27 Aug 2011 , 2:00am by KathysCC

raulel2002 Posted 26 Aug 2011 , 7:26pm
post #1 of 10

I am trying to make a cake for my sons birthday. The cake rose very high in the center but not on the sides, I used a flower nail in the center, but it still did this. can anyone tell me why it may have done this so the second layer won't turn out the same?
Thanks

9 replies
mayo2222 Posted 26 Aug 2011 , 7:46pm
post #2 of 10

What temp are you baking at? Lower the temp to 325. Maybe consider some bake even strips or make something similar out of towels.

raulel2002 Posted 26 Aug 2011 , 7:58pm
post #3 of 10

the temp was 325. I almost bought some baking stips today but put them back....I have never tried making cakes before but was doing his as a practice for my daughters party in a few weeks.

Texas_Rose Posted 26 Aug 2011 , 8:26pm
post #4 of 10

Sounds like maybe your oven is baking hotter than it's supposed to. Do you have an oven thermometer you could stick in there to check it?

raulel2002 Posted 26 Aug 2011 , 9:13pm
post #5 of 10

I checked my oven with 2 thermometers and it was about 12 degrees hotter than it said it was, so I have now adjusted my oven. I had already cooked my second cake and it did not seem to mound as much but it still mounded. I hope my adjustment worked. May bake another cake in between this one and when I'm daughters birthday cake. Any other thoughts would be welcomed and thanks for the help!

CWR41 Posted 26 Aug 2011 , 9:36pm
post #6 of 10

Have you heard of the push-down method? Just smash the hump down with a cake circle or tea towel as soon as it comes out of the oven. It's easier than trying to level the hump off with a knife, and won't leave a loose crumb surface.

raulel2002 Posted 26 Aug 2011 , 11:47pm
post #7 of 10