Any Advice For Me For Me?

Business By sweet_tooth85 Updated 13 Nov 2011 , 12:59pm by Mietta

sweet_tooth85 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet_tooth85 Posted 24 Aug 2011 , 6:20am
post #1 of 5

Hi everyone! I've recently started a cupcake business in Queensland, Australia. It all happened by accident really. I found myself unemployed and miserable, so I started baking cupcakes and cakes to keep myself busy. My husband works in a school and I needed somewhere for my baking to go so he volunteered to take it to work. And BOOM! People loved it and asked if I would consider taking orders!! After taking a few orders for birthdays, I realised I could make something of it. I had always dreamed of having my own business, but never though for a second it would ACTUALLY happen.

So, as I'm new to it all and still finding my way, I need all the advice I can get. Whether it's something you wish someone told you when you were starting, or just general good sense advice. I don't have any family where I live and only a few close friends, so I feel a little on my own. Anyone willing to offer a cyber hug or words of encouragement? icon_smile.gif

4 replies
JamAndButtercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JamAndButtercream Posted 24 Aug 2011 , 2:31pm
post #2 of 5

Hi,
So you have found you have the gift of cake making? icon_biggrin.gif

Are you home baking? or do you have a shop? My advice is always do your research, in everything! Cost of cakes, cost of ingredients, cupcakes etc, make sure you don't sell things at a loss. Always be confident in your work and know your limits. Since being in the forums of this website I have read many stories about bad customers, 9 out of 10 customers are nice, but be warned you will come across the "bad eggs" so be prepared and stand up for yourself! icon_smile.gif
and if you run into problems post on this forum, there's always someone willing to answer questions, or listen to your vents! icon_biggrin.gif