Reproducing A Logo For Our Team

Decorating By rpaige Updated 1 Sep 2011 , 7:44pm by rpaige

rpaige Posted 23 Aug 2011 , 1:23pm
post #1 of 8

My son's football coach has asked me to make the cake for the banquet. My son has a t-shirt with the flowing "stallion" head/mane on the front. When you break the picture down, it appears that there is a basic gray background a bit larger than the blue, flowing mane of wild stallion head/mane on top of the gray. I have been unsuccessful in attaching a picture of the logo - sorry.

Based on my rough description, what would you professionals suggest for reproduction? Two layers of gray/blue fondant and use exacto knife? Tracing and filling with bc? Suggestions and examples are appreciated.

My son has bragged to everyone about my cakes and now I'm in a state of panic. I am not an artist!

7 replies
shellywadd Posted 23 Aug 2011 , 1:31pm
post #2 of 8

how about a edible print out of the logo ???

kakeladi Posted 23 Aug 2011 , 1:41pm
post #3 of 8

*IF* you don't care that the logo be edible you can print it out (even on edible paper but the ink would not be o.k.) then mount that on a fondant (or gp) plaque.

OR maybe colorflow the head onto fondant

shellywadd Posted 23 Aug 2011 , 1:50pm
post #4 of 8

if u know some one who has a edible printer the ink too will be ok to eat i have one and the inks are made from food colouring and quite safe

dchockeyguy Posted 23 Aug 2011 , 1:57pm
post #5 of 8

I realize not everyone has access to edible image printers. I'd suggest doing a frozen buttercream transfer. They are perfect for this kind of application!

HappyCake10609 Posted 23 Aug 2011 , 2:16pm
post #6 of 8

I made logos for the graduation cake I did recently... I printed a picture of the logo and then traced over the lines, so that there was a "ridge" on the back side of the paper, then just pressed the paper on different colors of rolled out fondant and cut out the lines with an exacto knife and layer them.