In Over My Head??

Decorating By Kikleberry Updated 23 Aug 2011 , 11:38pm by LenaMay

Kikleberry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kikleberry Posted 22 Aug 2011 , 6:44pm
post #1 of 8

Hi there. Love the site, but a first time poster.

I am relatively new to cake decorating, but I have a wedding cake coming up in September that I thought would be "easy enough" to decorate, but the closer the date comes, the more uncertain I become.

It's a "jewel" on a taller shaped cake, and I actually am not sure how to do the jewel at all icon_cry.gif

I'm going to try to attach a picture it, and maybe there can be some suggetions to help me?? I don't have a better quality photo though, as this was the only one that was supplied to me!

Thanks so much!

7 replies
LenaMay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LenaMay Posted 22 Aug 2011 , 7:05pm
post #2 of 8

Not sure how comfortable you are working with royal icing. But could you pipe out the jewel (using a template or pattern) and ahere it to the cake?

knlcox Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
knlcox Posted 22 Aug 2011 , 7:23pm
post #3 of 8

I know there are molds out there that could do that. Maybe you could look into purchasing a jewel mold and then painting the mold black and silver.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 22 Aug 2011 , 7:30pm
post #4 of 8

If you don't want to invest in molds (or don't have the time) then I agree w/making them from royal - by piping dots of icing on a flat base, and painting it w/matalic silver dust mixed w/vodka (or similar moisture).
Another option would be to make up many, many little balls of fondant and put them together on a flat circle 'base' and pain that.

live2create Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
live2create Posted 22 Aug 2011 , 7:50pm
post #5 of 8